A simple way to find what you really want in life

What? Why? Revised What? These are the questions of my super simple framework that I accidentally found out to be working really well.

I managed to severely reduce the anxiety I was having because of my burn out (post here). I did that by applying some of the principles I learned through the resources that I will link in the end of this short article.

So, one of the biggest enemies you can have is yourself. Especially when that self is a stubborn and relentless son of a bitch. I am currently coping with my burn out in any way I find possible. Thankfully, I had some money saved so my wife and I were staying in Thailand for the past month.

Although it may seem that staying in Thailand is relaxing, I was forcing myself to find remote work by any means necessary during this stay. I was forcing myself to do that almost every day, and never did it ever leave the back of my head. Until I realised that I’m living in my head for the past month!

The thoughts I was having were revolving mostly about things on what I want to do. There was a lot of things by the way! That is why today I started writing all of those things down on paper. Guess what… That was such a relief! All of those things that were messing me in the inside are now suddenly out of my head and in front of me on a sheet of paper.

Not only I now see clearly WHAT do I want to have and achieve, but also it is now easy to see WHY I want those things. So the next step for me is to write down the WHY’s of the WHAT’s. Her’s an example of what I had in the WHAT’s part:

  1. I want a good relationship with my family;
  2. work from wherever I want, whenever;
  3. have kids…

I actually wrote down more than thirty of these.

So for every WHAT, I added a WHY. Straight from my notes:

  1. I want a good relationship with my family;
    WHY. To brings me true joy.
  2. want to be my own boss;
    WHY. So that no douchebag ever tells me what to do. I appreciate good leaders, but douchebags can fuck off.
  3. have kids.
    WHY. This would make me and my wife happy.

Having written all the WHYs for each corresponding WHATs I was able to find out the drivers behind all of my wishes. The funny bit is, that some of the WHATs seem puny when I see the driving forces behind those.

So it’s time revise the WHAT I WANT list, i.e. throw out the stupid things and rank each what according to what will bring me happiness and also what is completely necessary to sustain a happy life.

So to sum up this small workflow allows me to see what I really want in my life and remove the things that are just a stupid dream that won’t bring me or my family any joy.

I must thank Brian Tracy, the author of a book called Goals! How to Get Everything You Want Faster Than You Ever Thought Possible. This book is the source of my knowledge that I am sharing with you. Although the guy is explaining things in a different manner.

Also, this post is inspired by this TED talk by Simon Sinek called Start With the Why.

Accomplishments:

  1. Made my wife smile and lough multiple times;
  2. Spilled out all of the things that were in my head down on paper;
  3. Found a solution for that door that was making all of that noise.

Leave a comment